Jump to SearchJump to MenuJump to Content
 

Chef

Chef

Hong Kong has long been hailed as a food paradise in which almost all cuisines from across the world can be found, to say the least, including  Japanese, Thai, Spanish, Italian, and even Russian. Thus, it is little wonder Hong Kong citizens have high expectations and requirement on food. At the same time, a vast majority of the citizens enjoy cooking and some of whom even embark on the culinary career.

However, unless starting up a restaurant, all the newbies need to roll up the sleeves to engage in chores including carrying and unloading goods, and cleaning floors. One should not expect to cook right at the start or enjoy the priviledge of being coached by by the masterchefs because catering industry is the busiest among all other industries in the sense that it is not uncommon for chef to get busy with a dish on hand while a large swathe of diners keep ording new dishes. Prospective chefs can only learn by observing the experienced chefs.
 
While it’s important for chefs to learn from the veteran, they should never cease to explore new combination of different raw material as well as the best cooking method that goes with the combination. At the same time, they should be courageous to cross the national border by creating fushion dishes. As fusion cuisines are very popular in recent years, and even Chinese cuisines that are relatively conservative have also joined the lineup of ""going fusion"", demonstrating that chefs indeed need to have an inquisitive mind striving for innovation.

Interested in this industry?
Any suitable courses?Show/Hide the list
Filter by
Hong Kong College of Technology (HKCT)
Full-time
Hong Kong College of Technology (HKCT)
Full-time
Chinese Cuisine Training Institute
Diploma
Chinese Cuisine Training Institute
Certificate
Chinese Cuisine Training Institute
Certificate
Hospitality Industry Trainind and Development Centre (HITDC)
Diploma
International Culinary Institute
Certificate
International Culinary Institute
Certificate
International Culinary Institute
Certifdicate
International Culinary Institute
Certificate
International Culinary Institute
Certificate
Integrated Vocational Development Centre
Full time
Vocational education coursesShow/Hide the list
Filter by
Li Ka Shing Institute of Professional and Continuing Education (LiPACE)
Part time
Li Ka Shing Institute of Professional and Continuing Education (LiPACE)
Part time
Chinese Cuisine Training Institute
Diploma
Chinese Cuisine Training Institute
Certificate
Chinese Cuisine Training Institute
Certificate
Hospitality Industry Trainind and Development Centre (HITDC)
Diploma
International Culinary Institute
Certificate
International Culinary Institute
Certificate
International Culinary Institute
Certifdicate
International Culinary Institute
Certificate
International Culinary Institute
Certificate
Where to find jobs? Others

跳到搜尋跳到菜單跳到內容
 

就業升學路

廚師

廚師

香港是一個美食天堂,幾乎世界各地所有的菜式都可以在香港找到。無論日本菜、泰國菜、西班牙菜、意大利菜,甚至俄羅斯菜都有,可以說是包羅萬有,因此香港人對食極有要求。不少人都相當熱愛下廚,甚至會將興趣變成職業。

不過,除非自己獨立開店,否則所有剛入行的初哥,首先也必需經過打雜階段,搬貨、執貨、洗地、抹地,不要奢望可以到爐頭工作,也不要妄想師傅會親自用心教導,因為餐飲業趕忙的程度是所有行業之冠(可能一碟還未煮好,又有兩枱點菜),只能靠自己多找機會「偷師」。如師傅正在炒菜,便留意他的拋鑊手勢等。

不過,學習前人的經驗固然重要,但在過程中,也要通過不斷了解更多烹調方法、不同食材的特色和配搭,甚至不要拘泥於菜式的國界,為客人創造嶄新的味覺享受。近年Fusion菜非常流行,甚至向來較保守的中菜也開始加入此行列,正是表示廚師需要不斷創新、不斷發掘新味道的最佳證明。

對這個行業有興趣?
有甚麼適合的課程?打開或關閉表單
篩選課程:
中華廚藝學院
文憑
中華廚藝學院
證書
中華廚藝學院
證書
國際廚藝學院
證書
國際廚藝學院
證書
國際廚藝學院
證書
國際廚藝學院
證書
旅遊服務業培訓發展中心
文憑
香港專業進修學校(港專)
全日制
香港專業進修學校(港專)
全日制
香港專業進修學校(港專)
全日制
匯縱專業發展中心
全日制
香港公開大學李嘉誠專業進修學院
兼讀制
香港公開大學李嘉誠專業進修學院
兼讀制
哪裡找工作?
你未來的僱主打開或關閉表單
其他須知