Jump to SearchJump to MenuJump to Content
 

Foreman

Foreman

The construction industry is facing the problem of a severe labour shortage, caused by the ageing of frontline workforce and commencement of ten major infrastructure projects. In view of this issue, the construction industry has increased wages for its workers and attracted many secondary school graduates and even university graduates to enter the industry. Industry insiders said that the problem of manpower shortage is getting severer, especially for positions like construction supervisors which are in high demand. Government and railway companies need to hire a crew of site supervisors while for private developments, a certain quantity of technicians, including supervisors and draftsmen must be recruited according to the Supervision Plan of the Buildings Department. Industry insiders believe that the chief cause for labour shortage is the succession gap resulted from Hong Kong’s education system. While the new generation aspires for higher education, fewer young people are willing to work as construction supervisors. The shortage of middle- and low-level technical personnel is bigger than that of engineers.

Some people may be limited by the old ways of thinking that it is a waste for post-secondary degree holders to work in construction sites. But in fact, there are different types of jobs in the construction industry. For instance, construction supervision, which requires management skills, could be a big challenge even to post-secondary degree holders. In recent years, some MBA graduates who are unsatisfied with the wages and benefits in the business sector decided to switch their career and enroll in programs on construction supervision.

A construction apprentice recalled, “A mentor once said to us: ‘Some people may be spending their life savings on the houses we build. How can we possibly give them problematic houses?’ This is when I came to realize the responsibility of a construction practitioner and began to study harder.” Construction work is indeed very significant and respectable.

Interested in this industry?
Any suitable courses?Show/Hide the list
Filter by
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Full-time
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Full-time
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
全日制
The Open University of Hong Kong
Full-time
City University of Hong Kong
Part-time
Li Ka Shing Institute of Professional and Continuing Education (LiPACE)
Full time
Li Ka Shing Institute of Professional and Continuing Education (LiPACE)
Full time
The School of Continuing Education ( SCE ) of Hong Kong Baptist University
Part-time
Construction Industry Council Training Academy
Full Time
Vocational education coursesShow/Hide the list
Filter by
The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Full-time / Part-time
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Part-time
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Part-time
HKU School of Professional and Continuing Education (HKU SPACE)
Part-time
The Open University of Hong Kong
Part-time
City University of Hong Kong
Part-time
Li Ka Shing Institute of Professional and Continuing Education (LiPACE)
Part time
Li Ka Shing Institute of Professional and Continuing Education (LiPACE)
Part time
Li Ka Shing Institute of Professional and Continuing Education (LiPACE)
Part time
The School of Continuing Education ( SCE ) of Hong Kong Baptist University
Part-time
Occupational Safety Health Council
Part-time
Construction Industry Council Training Academy
Full Time
Where to find jobs? Others

跳到搜尋跳到菜單跳到內容
 

就業升學路

監工

監工

建造業前綫員工老化,碰上本港十大基建上馬,行內多個工種近年因人手短缺,增加工資僱人,吸引不少中學生、甚至大學畢業生入行。行內指,建造業整體缺人,尤其地盤監工,因無論政府或鐵路工程、顧問都要聘請大團隊作駐地盤工程監督人員,私人工程亦要按屋宇署的監督計畫書,聘請一定數量的技術人員,如監工及繪圖員等。行內人士認為,問題涉及教育系統斷層,因年輕一代追求高學歷,導致較少人當盤監督人員,缺人的情況就像金字塔,中下層技術人員比工程師有更多短缺。

有人或會被舊觀念局限,認為擁有專上學歷到工地工作有點可惜。其實,建造業的工種十分多元化,特別監督事務涉及管理技巧,對專上學歷人士來說也絕對是不小的挑戰。業界舉例,近年有MBA學生不滿在商界的工作待遇,決定報讀監工培訓課程,轉做地盤科文。

一位行內學徒也說:「有位師傅說過,別人花畢生積蓄購買我們興建的房子,若出現樓宇問題,你可會過意得去?這句話令我明白到建造業從業員的責任所在,也更用心學習。」可見從平地興建萬丈高樓的工作十分偉大。

對這個行業有興趣?
有甚麼適合的課程?打開或關閉表單
篩選課程:
職業訓練局
全日制
香港理工大學
全日制
香港理工大學
全日制
香港公開大學
全日制
香港城市大學
兼讀制
香港公開大學李嘉誠專業進修學院
全日制
香港公開大學李嘉誠專業進修學院
全日制
香港浸會大學持續教育學院
兼讀制
建造業議會訓練學院
全日制
職業進修課程打開或關閉表單
篩選課程:
職業訓練局
全日制
香港理工大學
兼讀制
香港大學專業進修學院 (HKU SPACE)
兼讀制
香港公開大學
兼讀制
香港城市大學
兼讀制
香港公開大學李嘉誠專業進修學院
兼讀制
香港公開大學李嘉誠專業進修學院
兼讀制
香港公開大學李嘉誠專業進修學院
兼讀制
香港浸會大學持續教育學院
兼讀制
職業安全健康局
兼讀制
建造業議會訓練學院
全日制
哪裡找工作? 其他須知