Jump to SearchJump to MenuJump to Content
 

Jewelry Designer

Jewelry Designer

Everyone loves beautiful things, and precious jewelries are especially favored. There is a saying that goes: “Gems unwrought can do nothing useful”. It is the profession of jewelry designers to allow jewelries to shine their very brightest.

Jewelry designers are responsible for designing a wide variety of ornaments. The processes of designing jewelry includes painting and revising design sketches, communicating with clients and suppliers, calculating costs and more. A professional jewelry designer must have an artistic touch as well as quality appraisal skills. Moreover, he or she must have sufficient knowledge about the structures, colors and values of various gemstones as well as metal and non-metal materials to grasp optimum ways to pair and cut materials and create the best visual effect.

Although working in the creative industry, jewelry designers must still place customer demand as their priority. Hence, they must possess cooperation and communication techniques and follow market and fashion trends closely. For example, Chinese customers show special preference for gold ornaments, while Europeans prefer simple styles and fuller-figured Americans pursue exaggerated styles.

To become a jewelry designer, one must complete secondary school and take relevant design courses or enter apprenticeship. The starting salary is around HK$8,000-10,000. Experience is very important in this industry. Youngsters interested in the profession can give it a shot as it is now a golden period for the development of high-end jewelries with the surging demand for luxuries in China.

Interested in this industry?
Any suitable courses?Show/Hide the list
Filter by
Gemological Institute of America (Hong Kong)
Full time
Gemological Institute of America (Hong Kong)
Full time
Vocational education coursesShow/Hide the list
Filter by
Li Ka Shing Institute of Professional and Continuing Education (LiPACE)
Part time
The Hong Kong Management Association
Part time
The School of Continuing Education ( SCE ) of Hong Kong Baptist University
Part time
The School of Continuing Education ( SCE ) of Hong Kong Baptist University
Part time
Where to find jobs? Others

跳到搜尋跳到菜單跳到內容
 

就業升學路

珠寶設計師

珠寶設計師

愛美之心,人皆有之,而名貴的珠寶更令人愛不釋手。所謂「玉不琢不成器」,讓珠寶發揮出最完美耀眼的光芒,是珠寶設計師的專業。

珠寶設計師負責設計多元化的首飾,過程包括繪畫及修改設計圖,聯絡客戶和供應商、預算成本等。專業的珠寶設計師必須擁有藝術觸覺和品質鑑定技巧﹐對各種玉石、金屬及非金屬等材料的結構、色澤和價值都要有所認識,才能掌握最佳的搭配、切割方式和視覺效果。

雖然身處創意工業,但珠寶設計師仍要以顧客需求為先,因此也講求合作及溝通技巧,並且要緊貼市場和時款的趨勢。例如,國內客人對金飾情有獨鐘,歐洲人偏好簡約,體格較豐滿的美國人則追求誇張風格。

珠寶設計師需有中學程度﹐並曾修讀有關的設計課程或遵循學徒制,起薪約八千至一萬左右,而經驗在這行非常重要。現時國內奢侈品需求大增,是發展高級首飾的黃金機會,有興趣的年輕人不妨在入行一試。

對這個行業有興趣?
有甚麼適合的課程?打開或關閉表單
篩選課程:
職業訓練局
全日制
職業訓練局
全日制
美國寶石研究院 (香港)
全日制
美國寶石研究院 (香港)
全日制
職業進修課程打開或關閉表單
篩選課程:
香港公開大學李嘉誠專業進修學院
兼讀制
香港管理專業協會
兼讀制
香港浸會大學持續教育學院
兼讀制
香港浸會大學持續教育學院
兼讀制
哪裡找工作? 其他須知