Jump to SearchJump to MenuJump to Content
 

Ship Security Officer

Ship Security Officer

Many people believe that Hong Kong's maritime industry is declining without much prospect. Indeed, Hong Kong is no longer a fishing harbor, but it has become a popular entrepot, creating space for sustainable development of the international trade industry and maritime industry.

However, the polarization of the international community is worsening in recent years, with a rising number of terrorist attacks, illegal immigration and drug trafficking. Ships have become a tool for criminals to commit crimes. In 2004, the International Maritime Organization released the International Ship and Port Facility Security Code, stipulating that companies engaged in international trade must appoint a Ship Security Officer (SSO) as well as a Company Security Officer (CSO) that is responsible for the security infrastructure on ships.

The security personnel of ships is responsible for preventing hazardous goods and unauthorized persons from boarding, managing the security alert system and taking care of security infrastructure. The SSO also need to assist traders, maritime consultancies, shipping agencies and management companies in ensuring safety of navigation.


The Marine Department (MD) launched thematic webpages on “Maritime Industry” to introduce the maritime industry and encourage aspiring talents to join and become maritime professionals.

The contents of the thematic webpages include the differences between the deck crew and the engineering crew; the development ladders for the deck crew  and  engineering  crew  in  local  vessels,  river trade vessels and seagoing  vessels and the career paths for local pleasure vessel operators. The webpages also provide information on the posts and vacancies in the MD, with description of the job duties and entry requirements of the respective posts etc.

Interested in this industry? Where to find jobs? Others

跳到搜尋跳到菜單跳到內容
 

就業升學路

船舶保安主任

船舶保安主任

不少人認為本港航海業式微,前景堪虞。本港確實不再是從前的漁港,但卻成為熱門的轉口港,國際貿易及航運業持續發展,發展空間不少。

近年國際社會分化嚴重,例如歐洲難民潮等,恐怖活動、偷渡及運毒等罪案有增無減,船舶成為不少不法分子的犯案工具。2004年,國際海事組織推出國際船隻及港口設施保號安守則,規定從事國際貿易的公司在船舶上委任船舶保安主任,以及委任保安主任保養船舶的保安基建設施。

船舶保安人員的職責包括防止危險品及未獲授權人士登船、使用船上的保安警戒系統及保養船上的保安基建設施等。一些貿易商、海事顧問公司、船舶代理及管理公司也需要船舶保安主任協助航運安全。


海事處推出「海事行業」專題網頁,介紹香港海事行業,鼓勵有志者加入成為專業海事人才。

專頁內容包括甲板部和輪機部船員的分別、兩種船員在本地船、內河船和遠洋船的發展階梯、以及本地遊樂船操作人的晉升途徑;並介紹海事處職位和空缺,說明不同工作崗位的職責和入職條件等資料。

對這個行業有興趣?
職業進修課程打開或關閉表單
篩選課程:
職業訓練局
兼讀制
職業訓練局
兼讀制
職業訓練局
兼讀制
哪裡找工作? 其他須知