Jump to SearchJump to MenuJump to Content
 

Information Centre

Education Policy


Policy objectives

The Government has been providing 9-year free and universal basic education (6 years of primary education and 3 years of junior secondary education) through public sector primary and secondary schools (including government schools, aided schools and caput schools) since 1978. To demonstrate the Government's commitment to the nurturing and education of our next generation, free education is extended to include senior secondary education provided by public sector secondary schools starting from the 2008/09 school year. The beneficiaries include students pursuing Secondary 4 to Secondary 7 under the current secondary school structure (meaning 13 years of free education) and students pursuing Senior Secondary 1 to Senior Secondary 3 under the New Senior Secondary structure to be introduced from the 2009/10 school year (meaning 12 years of free education). These are parts of the education policy objectives.

Medium of Instruction

Concomitant with the introduction of free senior secondary education, with effect from the 2008/09 school year, we also provide full subvention for full-time courses offered by the Vocational Training Council (VTC) for Secondary 3 school leavers. Through providing full subvention for these VTC courses, an alternative free avenue is provided for senior secondary students to further their studies other than in mainstream education. On the medium of instruction, the Government endeavours to promote mother-tongue teaching, enabling students to learn effectively and to become bi-literate and trilingual.

The goal of secondary education

On the goal of the secondary education, the Government provides a balanced and diverse school education that meets the different needs of students, helping them build up knowledge, values and skills for further studies and personal growth.

The goal of post-secondary education

For post-secondary education, the Government targets to provide 14,500 first-year first-degree places for about 18% of youths aged 17 to 20 and support progressive increases in post-secondary education.

Secondary curriculum

The areas of learning and experience in the secondary curriculum cover intellectual, communicative, social and moral, personal and physical, aesthetics aspects. The major elements of learning, which include knowledge, skills and attitudes, should also be included in the curriculum planning.

Quality Assurance Inspection

By means of quality assurance inspection and school self-evaluation, and through school improvement and accountability, we aim to achieve quality school education.

Information of individual schools

If you wish to know more about individual schools, visit the school lists by districts or the secondary schools profiles.

“334” New Academic Structure

The “334” new academic structure is a major reform with far-reaching impact. After completing three years of junior and three years of senior secondary education, students have to take a public examination. Students who have attained the required standards may undertake a 4-year undergraduate programme or other programmes run by post-secondary institutions. Let us know more about the background and the latest news about the new academic structure together!

跳到搜尋跳到菜單跳到內容
 

資訊站

教育政策


政策目標

政府自1978年起透過公營小學及中學(包括官立、資助及按額津貼學校)實施9年免費普及基礎教育(包括6年小學和3年初中教育)。為顯示政府對培 育下一代的承擔,我們決定由2008/09學年起,把免費教育延伸至公營中學的高中年級。受惠的學生包括在現有學制下就讀中四至中七的學生(即提供13年 免費教育),以及在2009/10學年推行的新高中學制下就讀新高中一年級至新高中三年級的學生(即提供12年免費教育)。這些是教育政策目標的一部份。

教學語言

隨著我們推行免費高中教育,由2008/09學年起,我們亦全面資助職業訓練局為修畢中三的學生開辦的全日制課程。透過全面資助這些課程,我們為高中學生提供主流教育以外的另一個免費進修途徑。教學語言方面,政府致力推廣母語教學,使學生更有效地學習及理解課題,同時能夠掌握「兩文三語」。

中學教育的目標

中學教育的目標是提供五育並重及多元化的教育,以配合學生的不同需要,幫助他們確立價值觀和掌握技能,為日後升學或就業打穩基礎,以及促進學生的個人成長。

專上教育的目標

專上教育方面,政府的目標是為17至20歲這一年齡組別中大約18%的年青人,提供14500個第一年學士學位課程學額,和逐步增加年青人接受專上教育的機會。

中學課程

中學課程的主要學習範疇應包括智力、傳意技能、群性和德性、個人和身體發展、及審美和創作各方面的培育,還要確保知識、技能和態度這些主要學習要素能夠全面包括在課程之中。

學校教育質素保證

政府透過學校教育質素保證和學校自我評核,以及學校改善和問責,達致優質學校教育的目的。

了解個別學校資料

若你想了解個別學校,可參考教育局分區學校名冊,和《中學概覽》

334」學制

「334」教育新學制是一項重大的改革,影響深遠。學生在完成三年初中及三年高中課程後,須參加一個公開考試,達到一定水平後,便可以入讀四年制的大學學士學位課程或其他專上院校。讓我們一起深入認識新學制的背景資料和最新資訊吧!