Jump to SearchJump to MenuJump to Content
 

Career and Study

15 FAQs you must know about law affairs in startup


Career and Study

 

The followings are the 15 FAQs that you must know:

1.  What are the characteristics of sole proprietorships, partnerships and limited companies? What are the advantages and disadvantages of each type of business?

Ans: A sole proprietorship is a business that is run by a single individual who makes all the decisions, although the proprietor may engage employees. The sole proprietor is personally entitled to all of the profits and is responsible for any debts that the company incurs... (read more)

2.  Do I have to obtain a licence(s) from the Government for my business?

Ans: An appropriate food licence must be obtained from the Licensing Office of the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department to run a general restaurant, light refreshment restaurant, seafood restaurant, bakery, cold store, factory canteen, food factory, fresh provisions shop, frozen confectionery factory, milk factory or "siu mei" and "lo mei" shop... (read more)

3.  Are there any legal stipulations about human resources management that apply to running a business in Hong Kong?

Ans: Implied rights concerning rest days, holidays, maternity leave, dismissal with notice or wages in lieu of notice, severance and long service payment. Implied rights are rights that are granted to employees even if they are not expressly stated in their contract of employment... (read more)

4. What are "personal guarantees" and "bank guarantees"? When will I be required to provide these documents to other parties in business transactions?

Ans: In a business transaction, if a party (e.g. the buyer) is either unwilling or unable to pay in advance, or if that party is a limited company and its creditworthiness is unknown, then the other party (e.g. the seller) may require some form of guarantee of payment... (read more)

5. How can I set up a sole proprietorship, partnership or limited company? Do I have to obtain a business registration certificate from the Inland Revenue Department and register with the Companies Registry before commencement of business?

Ans: The Business Registration Ordinance (Cap. 310 of the Laws of Hong Kong) requires every person who runs a business in Hong Kong, whether it is a sole proprietorship, partnership or limited company, to register the business at the Inland Revenue Department within one month from the date of commencement of business, and to display a valid Business Registration Certificate at the place of business... (read more)

6. What are the basic requirements for making a valid contract?

Ans: A valid contract normally contains the following five basic elements: (i) Intention to create legal relations. It is generally presumed that in a commercial transaction, the contracting parties must have the intention to create a legally binding contract. In other words, if you have signed a contract for business-related activities, then you will be able to sue the other party if that party does not fulfil the contractual provisions, and vice versa.... (read more)

7. What are the other important matters that the parties should note when making a contract?

Ans: Normally speaking, a third party cannot sue or be sued regarding a contract, and only the parties to a contract can rely on the contract terms to take legal action. However, there are some exceptions to this principle, such as... (read more)

8. If one party breaches a contract term, what can the other party do? What are the possible liabilities of the defaulting party?

Ans: The first issue is whether the contract violation is a breach of condition or a breach of warranty. A condition is a central (major) term of the contract. If a party breaches a condition, the other party has the right to be discharged from the contract and to claim damages (compensation). A warranty is a minor term. Breach of a warranty by a party gives the other party the right to claim compensation, but not to be discharged from the contract... (read more)

9. To avoid certain liabilities, some business people insert exemption or exclusion clauses into their contracts. Are these contract terms valid under the law?

Ans: Exemption clauses are used to avoid liability when things go wrong. Such clauses are not always effective, and are regulated by the Control of Exemption Clauses Ordinance (Cap. 71 of the Laws of Hong Kong). Exemption clauses that exclude liability for death and personal injury are usually not effective... (read more)

10. What if I need to use a middleman (such as an agent) to act on my behalf to negotiate for business or enter into contracts with others. What should I be aware of in such kinds of business dealings?

Ans: When a person or company sells products through sales agents, that person or company (as the principal) is liable for any contracts that are entered into by its agents, and may be sued on these contracts. The agent, who is not a party to the contracts, is generally not bound by the contracts between the principal and the other party. However, the agent may be personally liable if he acted without the necessary authority (did not act according to the principal's instruction)... (read more)

11. What should I be aware of before making a contract with others through the Internet?

Ans: According to section 17 of the Electronic Transactions Ordinance (Cap. 553 of the Laws of Hong Kong), contracts can be made by means of electronic records (such as e-mails) unless otherwise agreed by the contracting parties. In addition, electronic records that can be accessed for subsequent reference are allowed as evidence in court proceedings, except those that are set out in schedule 1 to the Electronic Transactions Ordinance (which include wills, power of attorney, contracts for sale of land or real estate and mortgages)... (read more)

12. Do I need to engage professional advisors or registered agents to set up a company in Mainland China?

Ans: Depending on the business sector and the size of the potential investment, a Hong Kong investor may choose to engage professional advisors to give advice on the relevant laws and regulations, market analysis, contract drafting and negotiation. A PRC lawyer, accountant or other registered agent, such as the local international trade development committee or a foreign services company, can be engaged to carry out registration matters and applications for approval or licences... (read more)

13. What licences or approval must I obtain to run a small or medium-sized business in Mainland China?

Ans: The most common licences or approval that must be obtained from the Mainland authorities are as follows: The approval of the State Administration for Industry and Commerce (SAIC) or relevant local administration of industry and commerce must be obtained for the name that is chosen for the foreign investment enterprise (FIE). Please note that all formal foreign investment in Mainland China, including those of Hong Kong companies and individuals, are called "foreign investment enterprises"... (read more)

14. To which aspects of taxation should I pay attention when running a small or medium-sized business in Mainland China?

Ans: The PRC Income Tax Law for Foreign Investment Enterprise and Foreign Enterprises 《中華人民共和國外商投資企業及外資企業所得稅法》 states that foreign firms are liable for the following types of taxation. (a) Corporate income tax. Some important notes are that gains which arise from the disposal of an FIE's assets are generally included as part of its taxable income, although wear and tear allowances are granted on fixed assets and other capital assets that are used in the production of income... (read more)

15. What is a trademark? How to apply to register a trademark?

Ans: A trademark is a sign that distinguishes the goods and services of one trader from those of others. Typically a trademark can be words (including personal names), indications, designs, letters, characters, numerals, figurative elements, colours, sounds, smells, the shape of the goods or their packaging or any combination of these. A sign must be capable of being represented graphically in order for it to be registered as a trademark... (read more)

(Extention: Startup)

(Source:Community Legal Information Centre – Business and Commerce)

跳到搜尋跳到菜單跳到內容
 

就業升學路

十五條常見的創業法律問題


就業升學路

 

以下是十五條你不能不知道的常見問題:

1. 「獨資經營」、「合夥業務」及「有限公司」有何特點?它們有何優點和缺點?

答:獨資經營是指由一個人出資經營的業務,縱然獨資經營者可聘用員工協助處理日常工作,但所有業務決定仍只由該獨資經營者作出。獨資經營者可獨享業務的全部利潤,也同時獨自承擔業務的一切債務... (閱讀更多)

2. 我是否需要向政府申請牌照?

答:若閣下經營食肆、小食食肆、海鮮酒家、麵飽店、凍房、工廠食堂、食物製造廠、新鮮糧食店、冰凍甜點製造廠、奶品廠、燒味店或鹵味店等,便須向食物環境衛生署申領食肆牌照... (閱讀更多)

3. 在業務的人力資源管理方面,有甚麼法規須留意?

答:僱員的隱含權利包括休假、假期、產假、終止僱傭合約所需的通知期或通知金、遣散費及長期服務金等。隱含權利是一些即使沒有收納在僱傭合約內,卻又賦予僱員的權利... (閱讀更多)

4. 甚麼是「個人擔保」及「銀行擔保」?在甚麼情況下,我需要在商業交易過程中向對方提供這些擔保文件?

答:在商業交易的過程中,如果其中一方 ( 例如買方 ) 不願意或無能力墊支,又或者其中一方是一所有限公司,其信用可靠程度並不清晰,在這情況下,另外一方 ( 例如賣方 ) 便會要求對方提供信用擔保文件... (閱讀更多)

5. 如何成立獨資經營、合夥業務、有限公司?是否需要在稅務局取得商業登記證及在公司註冊處辦手續才可開業?

答:根據《商業登記條例》(香港法例第310章) ,凡在香港經營業務的人士 ,不論是獨資經營、合夥業務或有限公司,均須在開業的一個月內向稅務局登記,並將有效的商業登記證展示在營業地點之內... (閱讀更多)

6. 一份有效的合約應具備甚麼基本條件?

答:一份有效的合約應具備下列五項要素:(i)有意訂立具法律約束力的合約。在進行商業交易時,一般都會假定立約雙方均有意訂立具法律約束力的合約,亦即是說,如果閣下為經營業務或進行與商業有關的交易而簽訂合約,閣下可因對方無法履行合約條款而控告對方,反之亦然... (閱讀更多)

7. 在制訂合約時,當事人有甚麼事項需要注意?

答:一般來說,只有簽訂合約的當事人,才可依憑合約採取法律行動,第三者不可憑藉合約控告他人或被他人控告,但這個原則亦有例外情況,例如... (閱讀更多)

8. 如立約的其中一方違反合約條款,另一方可採取甚麼行動?違約一方有甚麼法律責任?

答:首先,要決定違約的行為是屬於違反合約的 主要條款 ,抑或是違反次要條款 。主要條款是合約的核心 ( 主要 ) 部分,如果其一方違反這些條款 ,另一方可解除合約及索取賠償。次要條款則屬於較輕微的條款,違反這些條款只可容許另一方索取賠償,但不可解除合約... (閱讀更多)

9. 一些商人為了避免負上法律責任,會在合約內加上免責條款,這些條款在法例下是否有效?

答:在一旦發生問題時,合約中的免責條款可免除某一方的法律責任。不過,由於免責條款受《管制免責條款條例》(香港法例第71章)所規管,故此,利用免責條款來免除法律責任,並不是經常有效... (閱讀更多)

10. 如果我是透過中介人(例如代理人)洽談生意或訂立合約,有甚麼事項應留意?

答:如一名人士或一間公司透過營業代理去售賣商品,該人士或公司 ( 作為委託人 ) 需為由代理人所訂立的任何合約負上法律責任。代理人,由於並非訂立合約的當事人,一般不會受委託人及另一方所訂立的合約所規範。不過,如果代理人在未得適當授權 ( 不按委託人的指示 ) 簽訂合約,便需要負上法律責任... (閱讀更多)

11. 若我透過互聯網與他人訂立合約,有甚麼事情應留意?

答:按《電子交易條例》(香港法例第553章)第17條規定,除非立約雙方另有協議,否則合約是可透過電子紀錄 ( 例如電郵 ) 形式訂立。除了《電子交易條例》附表1所述的紀錄 ( 如遺囑、授權書、地產物業的買賣合約、按揭合約 ) 之外,可查閱以致可供日後參考的電子紀錄均可作呈堂證據... (閱讀更多)

12. 我是否需要尋求專業顧問或註冊代理的協助,才可在內地成立公司?

答:視乎商業類型及潛在投資金額的多少,香港投資者可選擇向專業顧問,尋求有關法例和規則、巿場分析、合約草擬、洽商等方面的意見。專門從事內地法律事務的律師、會計師或其他註冊代理,如本地國際貿易促進委員會,或一些為外商提供服務的公司,均可協助註冊及申請許可或牌照的事宜... (閱讀更多)

13. 若要在內地成立中小企業,須取得甚麼牌照或許可?

答:必須向中國有關當局取得的牌照或許可,最常見的包括:外商投資企業 的名稱,必須取得中華人民共和國國家工商行政管理總局或相關當地工商行政機關的許可。請注意,所有於中國內地的外國正式投資,包括香港公司或個別人士的投資,均稱為外商投資企業... (閱讀更多)

14. 在中國內地經營中小企業時,我應注意那些稅務事宜?

答:《中華人民共和國外商投資企業及外國企業所得稅法》指明外商投資企業應繳付下列稅項:(a) 企業所得稅– 應注意事項包括:雖然企業的固定資產及其他資產可享有耗損折讓,但一切透過轉讓企業資產所得的收益,均被視為應納稅所得額... (閱讀更多)

15. 甚麼是註冊商標?如何申請?

答:商標是一個標誌,用以識別不同商戶的貨品和服務。商標可以由文字(包括個人姓名)、徵示、設計式樣、字母、字樣、數字、圖形要素、顏色、聲音、氣味、貨品的形狀或其包裝,以及上述標誌的任何組合所構成。能夠藉書寫或繪圖方式表述的標記,才可以註冊為商標... (閱讀更多)

(延伸閱讀:青年創業版)

(資料來源:社區法網 - 商業及貿易)