Jump to SearchJump to MenuJump to Content
 

Career and Study

Meat-cutting course


Career and Study

Meat-cutters are the butchers that are commonly seen in the wet markets. Meat-cutters have to stand long hours with excruciating workload and are considered as "offensive trade" and thus very few youngsters are willing to embark on this career. With an increasing number of current meat-cutters are approaching their retirement, the industry sees an imminent shortage of labour. 

The industry hoped the government can organize more courses on meat-cutting to cultivate more talents in the field. The course should entail classification of different parts of pork and slaughter knowledge, as well as providing students with job opportunities. Secretary for Labour and Welfare Matthew Cheung promised to allocate more resources that the Employees Retraining Board will offer full-time meat-cutting courses for free. Participants will receive daily allowance of HK$153.8. Cheung also encouraged the industry to expand the recruitment base by inviting citizens aged 60-70, ethnic minorities, rehabilitated offenders and people with mild disability to join the industry.

In fact, the daily wage of the employees of fresh meat processing industry ranges from HK$900 to HK$1,000, with possible monthly salary of over HK$20,000. Besides, the industry can provide stable job opportunities as the fresh meat processing work cannot be replaced by machines and the working environment is not appalling as the one imagined. Thus, the younger generation can consider joining the industry.

*For details of the related courses, please contact ERB for enquiry.

跳到搜尋跳到菜單跳到內容
 

就業升學路

「肉類分割技術員」課程


就業升學路

「肉類分割技術員」大家最近都聽過這個專有名詞吧,沒錯,就是我們在街市常見到的「豬肉佬」。這份被視為勞動性高且工時長的厭惡性行業,肯接班的年輕人不多。現時不少刀手將屆退休之齡,行業面臨人手短缺。

業界希望政府舉辦「肉類分割技術員」培訓課程,吸引新血,課程內容包括豬肉部位分類和屠宰知識,及為學員提供就業機會。勞工及福利局長張建宗承諾增撥資源,由僱員再培訓局開辦免費全日制肉類切割技術員課程,學員每日可獲153.8元津貼;又鼓勵業界擴闊聘用領域,吸納60至70歲人士、少數族裔、更生人士及輕度殘障者。

其實,鮮肉處理行業人工日薪計900至1,000港元不等,月入可逾2萬港元,而且處理工序非機器可取代,工作機會穩定,行業環境不如外界所想艱辛,年輕一輩大可考慮投身這個偉大的行業!

*有關課程詳情請向僱員再培訓局查詢