Jump to SearchJump to MenuJump to Content
 

Career and Study

80% of youngsters would embark on a working holiday


Career and Study

A survey revealed that nearly 80% of the over 2000 youngster-respondents would embark on a working holiday if the condition allows, and over 70% of them believe that it would open up more employment opportunities for them in the future. A person in charge of the survey said that some employers reckoned that job applicants working holiday experiences can withstand higher pressure with lower expectation on salary.

In fact, people embarked on working holidays with different aims. Some simply aspire to learn about foreign cultures so as to broaden their horizon, while some others aim to boost their capabilities while earning money and work experience. There is no doubt that working holiday is a great opportunity to boost one's self-management and ability in solving crisis, which will eventually make the individual better deal with different tasks. A teacher didn’t lose faith despite failing to land a job in half a year after retuning to Hong Kong from a working holiday in Germany, for adaptability and confidence were greatly enhanced by the working holiday experience.

Working abroad can be attractive, yet dangerous at the same time because crisis often emerges in an unfamiliar environment. Besides making clear one's goals while working abroad, it is more important to stay vigilant to dangers at all time. ABC Television reported many cases in which Australian farms colluded with intermediaries to cut the wage of foreign workers, and there were cases in which foreign workers were tricked into prostitution and crimes. Victims in those cases often got into troubles as they are unfamiliar with local environment given existing loose regulation of local authorities.

The Labour Department reminded that if people are involved in serious accidents abroad, they should immediately approach the local government authorities or the relevant Chinese Embassy or Consulate for assistance, or call the 24-hour hotline of the Assistance to Hong Kong Residents Unit of the Immigration Department at (852)1868.

跳到搜尋跳到菜單跳到內容
 

就業升學路

八成青年表示會去工作假期


就業升學路

有調查題示,二千多名受訪青少年中,近八成人若條件許可,會去工作假期,逾七成人覺得工作假期有助增加日後受聘機會。調查負責人稱,有僱主認為工作假期的應徵者受壓能力普遍較高,且期望薪酬較低。

事實上,人們選擇到外地工作假期的目的不盡相同,有人單純地為了體驗外國文化,增加閱歷,也有人以鍛鍊自己、賺取金錢和工作經驗為目標。肯定的是,工作假期是訓練自我管理和危機應變的大好機會,在這方面有所增長,日後處理不同工作也自然更得心應手。有教師到德國工作假期後回港求職半年仍未有學校聘用,但自覺旅程能裝備自己,增強了適應力和自信,因此未感氣餒。

到外地工作假期可謂一念天堂,一念地獄,陌生環境下的危機並不少。工作假期期期間除了認清個人目標,更重要是時刻保持警覺。ABC電視台就揭露了不少澳洲農場及養殖場與招聘中介人合謀壓低工作假期簽證者的工資,而簽證者被騙賣淫及參與犯罪行為的事件也時有發生,受害人往往因人生路不熟及當局監管寬鬆而掉入陷阱,救助無門。

勞工處提醒,如在當地遇上嚴重事故,應立即聯絡當地政府部門,也可聯絡駐當地中國大使館及領事館,或致電香港入境事務處『協助在外香港居民小組』二十四小時求助熱線(852)1868。