Jump to SearchJump to MenuJump to Content
 

Career and Study

The agitation of fake universities


Career and Study

A university graduation certificate has long been deemed as an admission ticket or key to the ideal jobs. Many local and foreign illegal merchants take the advantages of the public’s yearning for higher academic qualifications to make illegal profits.

Recently, a mainland China’s educational website has released a list of fake universities in China. More than 200 institutions on the list claimed that they are qualified to confer the academic qualifications, but in fact they are not acknowledged by the officials. Some fake universities even imitate the school names and websites of the acknowledged universities to mislead citizens to apply and pay for their courses.

In addition, rumors had it that some companies peddled fake academic certificates online, such as Axact, a Pakistani doc-com which was exposed to have been engaging in sales service involving fake certificates. The company sells fake certificates through the Internet to global customers, including those in the US and Persian Gulf countries, profiting an estimated tens of millions of US dollars per year. Meanwhile, these websites imitated the fine frameworks of some official schools’ websites to an extent that one can hardly spot a fake, boasting their schools as “time-honored” and “world-renowned”. They even fabricated news reports or recruit a crew to act as teachers and students to shoot promotion videos. These practices may seem over-the-top and ridiculous, yet numerous netizens did fall prey to these traps.

The knowledge-based society nowadays has a higher requirement when it comes to one's educational background, and it’s easy for students to apply for overseas study. Given the more choices of further education and the lack of knowledge about the education scenes in Mainland China and other places outside Hong Kong, the public are advised to be more prudent and cautious about overseas study plan. They are advised to contact certified intermediaries for the best solution in a bid to avoid falling into the trap of fake academic conferment.

跳到搜尋跳到菜單跳到內容
 

就業升學路

假大學風潮


就業升學路

一紙畢業證書,被視為理想工作的入場券。中外不少不法商人正正利用大眾崇拜學歷的心態非法牟利。

近日有內地教育網站公布中國虛假大學警示榜,上榜的二百多家機構聲稱具有資格頒授學位,實質並不受官方承認,部分虛假大學更模仿正版學校的校名和網站,欺騙市民付款報讀課程。

此外,網上亦流傳一些銷售假學歷的公司,如巴基斯坦科網公司Axact就被揭發兼營假學歷銷售服務,透過互聯網向全球出售假證書,估計年賺數千萬美元,詐騙對象包括美國和波斯灣國家等人士。同樣地,這些網站亦模仿一些正牌學校網站,架設精細,幾可亂真,更訛稱假學校「歷史悠久」、「享譽全球」,甚至發放虛假新聞報道、特聘演員假扮學校師生拍攝推薦宣傳片等。手法看似誇張荒誕,但被成功訛騙的網民不計其數。

現今的知識型社會對學歷要求愈來愈高,對到海外求學再非難事。正因升學選擇增加,而我們對內地及外國的教育環境有欠熟悉,計劃到海外升學時更要小心謹慎,或可考慮聯絡有保證的中介公司,尋找最適合自己的道路,避免跌進假文憑陷阱。