Jump to SearchJump to MenuJump to Content
 

Career and Study

Do young people work for money?


Career and Study

Most young jobseekers are pessimistic about the current employment situation. Research found that 74 percent of fresh university graduates were anxious about the soaring competition in the job market; and it is estimated that the number of graduates who spend six months seeking a job would increase by 10% to 13% from last year. The Hong Kong Jockey Club Centre for Suicide Research and Prevention of The University of Hong Kong projected that among the suicide cases of people aged 15 to 24 in 2014, many were related to unimpressive starting salaries. The starting salaries of young people of different educational levels are much lower than those in ten years ago, bringing them with economic and psychological burdens.

As most enterprises are reluctant to invest in extra vocational training for the youth, the issue of youth unemployment is prevalent around the world. The rates of youth unemployment in South Korea and Taiwan are twice or thrice the average unemployment rate; and the global rates of youth unemployment even exceeded 13 percents. In response to the problem, South Korean President Park Geun-hye has proposed the “peak wage system”, under which salary for elder employees begins to reduce from a certain age and the costs saved will be used to create more jobs for young workforce.

Amid the sluggish economy, it is understandable for enterprises to exercise strict control over operating cost. Yet, it is hoped that the government and employers would take actions to tackle the problem of youth employment and secure the sustainability of social and economic development. Apart from salaries, young job-hunters should also take personal interests and capabilities into consideration, as this will be conducive to their career development.

跳到搜尋跳到菜單跳到內容
 

就業升學路

青年搵工只求財?


就業升學路

大部分青年人對現時就業環境不太樂觀,調查發現,74%應屆大專畢業生對應付工作競爭感到憂慮,預計花六個月求職的人更較上年大增一成至13%。港大防止自殺研究中心亦推算,去年15-24歲人士自殺個案中,不少與工作起薪不理想有關,當中不同教育程度的青年起薪點也遠較十年前低,令他們面對經濟及心理上的負擔。

由於許多企業都不願為青年投放額外訓練成本,青年就業問題在全球非常普遍,韓國及台灣的青年失業率比平均失業率高出一至兩倍,全球青年失業率更超過13%。就此,南韓總統朴槿惠曾提出「薪資高峰系統」計劃,打算讓有一定年資的員工在退休前逐年減薪,省下支出僱用年青人。

面對經濟不隱,企業嚴控成本也無可厚非,但願政府和僱主以行動鼓勵青年就業,保障社會及經濟的持續性發展。而青年求職時除考慮薪金外,也應考量個人興趣和能力,更有助事業的長遠發展。