Jump to SearchJump to MenuJump to Content
 

Career and Study

Nursing


Career and Study

Many people yearn for nursing jobs, lured by the attractive public image of nurses as angels in white, the stability of the jobs and the decent wage provided. A survey conducted by the Boys' and Girls' Clubs Association of Hong Kong and the City University of Hong Kong shows that nursing is one of the top three vocational tendencies among secondary school students. Yet, there is an excess of nursing students, generating a series of problems in the sector.

Years ago, recruitment of nurses saw large expansion in part due to the aging trend of practitioners. However, with a large inflow of fresh workforce, the turnover of nursing positions has gradually decreased. For this year, the Hospital Authority (HA) has received job applications from up to 186 fresh graduates of psychiatric nursing. Meanwhile, the number of registered nurse admitted by the HA this year has dropped, with only 69, or 10%, of all applicants recruited by the authority in its first-phase employment. This indicates the market demand for nurses is close to saturation.

In addition, overseas graduates should consider the difficulty in landing a nursing job in Hong Kong. Local graduates are not required to take the licensing examination as local nursing courses are approved by the Nursing Council of Hong Kong (NCHK), but overseas graduates can secure a place in Hong Kong only if they pass the licensing examination. But the passing rate of the Nursing Council licensing examination for registration was only 4.95% last year, and only five people passed all assessment for the whole year. Only about one fifth of candidates have obtained qualification for the practical test in the past four years. Analysts contributed it to the inability of overseas nurses to adapt to the examination system in Hong Kong.

Fairy tales may be on the verge of collapse, and those who are interested in becoming nurses should take the reality into account, instead of blindly following the trend.

跳到搜尋跳到菜單跳到內容
 

就業升學路

護士這一行


就業升學路

白衣天使的社會形象、工作穩定性和薪酬為不少人所憧憬,小童群益會和城市大學的調查就發現,護士是中學生嚮往職業三甲之一。情況如螞蟻黏蜜糖,但過多學生修讀護士課程,引伸了不少業內問題。

早幾年,從業員老化是護士入職興旺的原因之一,但隨著大批新人入行,護士流失率已漸減,醫院管理局今年錄取註冊護士的數量有下降跡象。例如,醫管局本年度接獲186名應屆精神科護士畢業生求職,首階段有69名註冊護士獲聘,九成登記護士落選,可見現階段市場接近飽和。

此外,海外畢業生要考慮回港就業的困難。本地護理課程經護管局審批,畢業生不須考執業試,但海外護士需通過執業試才能回港就業。但在去年,護士管理局註冊護士執業試的合格率僅4.95%,全年只有5人通過全部考核,過去四年也只有約五分之一考生取得實習試合格,分析估計海外護士不適應本港考試制度。

天使童話似乎瀕臨破滅,有意投身護士行列的朋友應該考慮現實前景,不要盲目跟隨潮流。