The sweet taste of travel cake

Yes, it's the cake for consumption when you're travelling. You didn't put "cake" on your travel packing list yet? Well you should consider it. Actually this recipe originated from travelers in older times; when transportation wasn't so advanced, travel times were long so people needed to prepare food with high calories and durable – hence got its name, "travel cake".

To help your visualization, this travel cake actually looks and tastes like modern day pound cakes. The S**a Lee cake we often seen in supermarkets would be the representative. This type of cake is can be really called "cake" in France (dessert classifications are quite specific there; "cake" is defined specifically as this type of butter cake made with baking powder).

In our impressions, pound cake may consider as the example of cheap cakes; but in a famous patisserie in France, one would easily cost you 17 to 20 Euros, and they taste so good which can beyond your expectations! I'm going to share with you the secret to this sweet treat here.

Usually pound cakes are made out of sugar, butter, flour and eggs at 1:1:1:1 ratios; that's why the French also calls it "Quatre-quarts", meaning four quarters. This recipe has been modified so that it won't be too sweet. Homemade version is also going to moister than supermarket-bought version.

Fig and apricot travel cake (300g portion)
Flour : 68g Egg (room temperature): 56g
Baking powder : 4g Melted butter : 50g
Sugar : 35g Dried apricots : 25g
Salt : 1g Dried figs : 25g
Honey : 5g Lemon zest : 10g

Steps:

  1. Preheat the oven to 150 degrees Celsius (ideally, check the temperature with a kitchen thermometer to ensure it is at 150 degrees)
  2. Mix the flour and baking powder, then sift through a sieve.
  3. Pour some warm water (40-50 degrees Celsius) in a big bowl; place a slightly smaller bowl in the bowl of warm water, and mix the sugar, salt, honey and egg in the "warm water bath".
  4. Add in the sifted flour and baking powder, then mix using a cake mixer. Be careful not to over-beat the mixture.
  5. Mix in the melted butter till the texture is consistent.
  6. Mix in the dried fruits and lemon zest.
  7. Brush some melted butter on the inside of a cake tin, then pour the batter into the cake tin.
  8. Bake in the pre-heated oven for about 40 minutes.

When we're waiting for 40 minutes, we can prepare the syrup that goes on the cake. "Syrup? Wouldn't that be too sweet?" I hear your concern. Don't worry! This syrup will moisten the cake, and it's not going to be too sweet because we'll add lemon juice.

Water : 30g
Lemon Juice : 5g
Sugar : 5g

The syrup is very easy to make; just mix and boil the water, lemon juice and sugar together. When the cake is ready, take it out from the cake tin and place onto a cooling rack. Brush the still warm syrup onto all surfaces of the cake, until the cake slightly saturated with the syrup. Cover the cake and let it cool for 6 hours or longer, and it would taste good!

This cake won't be too dry, and if you're quick cook in the kitchen, it can be done within an hour. Perfect for snack when you go travelling or for walking in the mountain!

A Patissier in Paris
Lammy

A patissier currently living in Paris, loves traveling, cooking, photography and all about culture. Lammy discovered the fun of desserts from his early kitchen experiences with mum, and decided to learn making them in France before he turned 30. To get enough money for this, he worked in some totally irrelavant businesses for 3 years, at the same time kept learning French and Japanese to explore their aesthetic senses. Luckily made his dream come true before 30, he is starting a sweet-sour dessert adventure with his broken French.

甜美的旅行蛋糕

是的,就是旅行時吃的蛋糕,聽到這個大概就會想起九制陳皮背面包裝那居家旅行送禮必備的語調。其實它是古時的人帶著這蛋糕出行充飢用的(現在也可以啦),由於當時交通不發達,出行時間長,所以很需要高熱量存放久的食物,所以這種蛋糕就叫旅行蛋糕了。

說了這麼久,它的樣子和味道其實就大概是現在的磅蛋糕,超市的Sxxa lee就是表表者。這種蛋糕在法國就叫 “cake”(對,甜點在法國有很多細分,cake就單指這類帶泡打粉的牛油蛋糕)。在我們的印象裏,這種蛋糕就是廉價蛋糕的代表,可是在法國,如果你在有名的蛋糕店買的話,一個就要17﹣20歐羅,味道是你想不到的好吃,當然作為甜點師的我也可以分享這小小的甜美。

一般來說磅蛋糕就是糖:牛油:麵粉:雞蛋=1:1:1:1的比例,所以法國人也會叫她Quatre-quarts,意指四分之四。這個配方做了小小調整,吃起來沒那麼甜,而且自己做的會比較濕潤,是超市買到所不能比的。

無花果杏子旅行蛋糕 (300g 一個份量)
麵粉 : 68g 蛋(常溫): 56g
泡打粉 : 4g 融化牛油 : 50g
糖 : 35g 杏子乾 : 25g
鹽 : 1g 無花果乾 : 25g
蜂蜜 : 5g 檸檬皮 : 10g

步驟:

  1. 開始預熱150度的烤箱(最好有爐溫計確保是150度)
  2. 麵粉和泡打粉拌勻後過篩
  3. 在碗裏拌好糖、鹽、蜂蜜和蛋,然後隔熱水拌勻(大約40-50度的水)
  4. 把粉類放入,然後用打蛋器拌勻,切記不要過度攪拌,以免麵粉起筋
  5. 加入融化了的牛油拌勻
  6. 拌勻後放入果乾和檸檬皮
  7. 把面漿放到抹了牛油的模子裏
  8. 放進預熱好的烤箱烤40分鐘

在等40分鐘的時候,我們可以預備之後塗在蛋糕上的糖水。大家聽到糖水也一定會問 「不會太甜嗎?」 這個糖水有濕潤蛋糕的作用,而且它並沒有那麼甜,因為裏面是加了檸檬汁的。

糖漿份量
水 : 30g
檸檬汁 : 5g
糖 : 5g

糖漿的做法是把水、檸檬汁和糖煮滾。出爐後,把蛋糕脫模,放到涼架上然後就用掃子把糖漿趁熱掃在蛋糕上。前後左右地不停塗,直到蛋糕吸到有點飽和為止。之後把蛋糕蓋好,放6個小時或更久讓它冷靜一下會更加好吃!

這個蛋糕吃起來不會乾乾的,而且,快手快腳的話可以1小時內完成,帶去旅行、行山、做下午茶點的確好極。

人氣文章關於...
法國工作假期 法國夢 法國簽證 檸檬塔 閃電泡芙 旅行蛋糕 甜點 野生風呂 法國南部                    
巴黎.甜點師
Lammy

現居巴黎,甜點師。喜歡飲食旅遊文化攝影。從小跟媽媽進廚房,後來發現甜點這玩意樂趣無窮,大學畢業前立志30歲前要到法國學做甜品。苦於沒有盤川,於是在香港及上海一些毫不相關的行業裏工作3年。中途學法文學日文,希望能學盡這兩個民族的精緻美學。「我是幸運的。30歲未到就能存夠錢一鼓作氣,報上學校,買下機票,帶著只懂說Bonjour的嘴巴,來到法國,開始這個甜酸旅程。」