The road for mastering the French dessert

With classmates from various countries, including Thailand, Malaysia, France and Hong Kong, I could feel the excitement with the upcoming challengesand the marble work desks in front of us. While we all shared the great passion for making desserts, and most of them were equipped with relevant experiences, I was just a starter, a blank sheet. It seemed that I had to work harder.

(Left) Having class...... (Right) My classmates come from various countries

It was a 17-week course, covering all French desserts (excluding bread), party cake, puff, ice-cream, candies and chocolates. Therefore at the end of the weekly course, we not only attained the knowledge, but also gained tons of desserts to bring back home. Actually I already ate some during the course. With those desserts I brought back home, I usually skipped my dinner.

Demo from master

Buffet and takeaway time at the end of each course

Tips for making desserts: Fast, fast and fast! There was a variety of products in the factory every day, and most of them were hand-made and packaged by hands. If you worked not fast enough, you would work until very late. While I felt good with my efficient works, I was amazed by others who were even more efficient than me. There were only a couple of hands to master the equip-ment, and you could not use a single hand to handle it, especially when you were packing 700 boxes of macaroon. I tried to use a single hand to work then being ‘reminded’ by others! Lacking sufficient training, I could not finish the physical-oriented work alone, such as taking up the heavy equipment, blending a few kg powders, and I could only enhance my physical ability gradually.

Dessert chefs = Supermen

(Left) Pouring sugar on desserts (Right) Apple caramel mousse cake

In spite of the hardship, I still loved my work. As long as my desserts were appreciated by others, I would still go on with this hot and adhesive dessert long road. With the persistence of my primary goal, I was confident that I would be a great dessert chef.

A Patissier in Paris
Lammy

A patissier currently living in Paris, loves traveling, cooking, photography and all about culture. Lammy discovered the fun of desserts from his early kitchen experiences with mum, and decided to learn making them in France before he turned 30. To get enough money for this, he worked in some totally irrelavant businesses for 3 years, at the same time kept learning French and Japanese to explore their aesthetic senses. Luckily made his dream come true before 30, he is starting a sweet-sour dessert adventure with his broken French.

和甜點打交道

看著這一張張的大理石工作桌,看到都覺得興奮。班裡的同學來自五湖四海,泰國馬來日本法國和香港,大家都對做甜點有十萬個熱情,而且大部份都是有相關工作經驗的,我是張白紙,頂多只能說是業餘愛好者,看來我是要十分努力才能趕上。

(左) 上課中....... (右) 同學們來自五湖四海

課程只有短短17周,卻涵蓋了除了麵包外所有的法式甜點,從批到蛋糕,泡芙雪糕糖果朱古力全部都會學,所以每個星期課程完了之後,除了學到的知識,就是一堆又一堆的甜點拿回家。嘴饞如我在上課時已經偷吃很多材料,然後又拿一堆又一堆的製成品回家,真的連晚飯都不用吃。

大師級示範

每堂課最後都會有一個buffet 然後就是大家打包的時間啦!

和甜品打交道最重要是快靚正。工場裏面每天都要生產很多產品,而且大部份都是人工製造和人手包裝,如果不快的話真的不知道加班到甚麼時候。當我在課堂裏覺得自己已經做得很快的時候,原來還不夠快,看到其他人的無影手,心裏嘖嘖稱奇。而且人就只有兩隻手做工具,我就曾試過單手工作然後被人 “提點” ,尤其你需要包裝700盒馬卡龍的時候,你的雙手尤其重要。也同時因為我手無搏雞之力(平時沒鍛鍊所致),對於一些需要力量工作的,包括提起機器、攪拌數公斤的麵糊等等等等,都需要人幫助......我也只能在身體上慢慢地適應了。

甜點師都是大力士

(左) 老師在示範淋面 (右) 蘋果焦糖慕斯蛋糕

但是,不知道為什麼,就算這個工作又累又熱,我還是喜歡做,因為只要大家吃到我的蛋糕而覺得愉悅,我就有繼續走下去的力量。縱然這條甜爺爺的路又熱又粘,勿忘初衷,堅持走下去,我覺得我必然也會是一個了不起的甜點師。

人氣文章關於...
法國工作假期 法國夢 法國簽證 檸檬塔 閃電泡芙 旅行蛋糕 甜點 野生風呂 法國南部                    
巴黎.甜點師
Lammy

現居巴黎,甜點師。喜歡飲食旅遊文化攝影。從小跟媽媽進廚房,後來發現甜點這玩意樂趣無窮,大學畢業前立志30歲前要到法國學做甜品。苦於沒有盤川,於是在香港及上海一些毫不相關的行業裏工作3年。中途學法文學日文,希望能學盡這兩個民族的精緻美學。「我是幸運的。30歲未到就能存夠錢一鼓作氣,報上學校,買下機票,帶著只懂說Bonjour的嘴巴,來到法國,開始這個甜酸旅程。」