Trivial annoyances

Culture difference can be found everywhere when you are having your working holiday, trivial matters in daily lives can be really annoying and almost drive people crazy.

Unless you are trying to be another Ekin Cheng (a Hong Kong celebrity with long hair), a guy normally cuts his hair at least 3/5/7/ times a year. Before going to Germany I had heard that most western hair stylists have problems in handling Asian hair, but I couldn't imagine the situation would be that bad. Once a young stylist made me a blunt bang and charged 30€, he might thought the bang was nice on me but to me it was a nightmare! How about going to cheap barbers for basic haircut? I did try a Turkish one and I want no second time please. My other Asian friends didn't get any better, so most of them ended up doing the haircut themselves. So don't expect anything from a pragmatic country like Germany, especially when it comes to hairstyle, you can only trust Japanese.

Found this Japanese barber shop just before I left Berlin, but it's too late.Found this Japanese barber shop just before I left Berlin, but it's too late.

I need rice in my meals like most Chinese people do, but in Germany, rice cooker is hard to find. To replace, there is some kind of 'instant rice' available in supermarkets with holes on its package, all you need to do is to put it in boiling water for 15 minutes. I have it when I miss home, though it never tastes like home-- after boiling the rice gets very watery, the texture is powdery and you can't chew. It is sad indeed for I am a rice lover.

The instant riceThe instant rice

To most people in Hong Kong, Sunday is the shopping day. But in Germany, don't even think of that! To avoid extra taxes which is levied on businesses on Sunday, most shops and supermarkets in Germany close on Sundays and the city gets super quiet. Supermarkets closing on Sundays also means that, if you forgot to buy the foods on Saturday, you'll have to go to restaurants on Sunday for food, which is often very costly.

One of the few supermarkets that opens Sunday, we were very excited when we found this!One of the few supermarkets that opens Sunday, we were very excited when we found this!

The list can go on, to name a few: all online reservations are only in German, fresh fish is hard to find, no midnight bus, and taxi is not available everything -- I don't mean to complain, but these are the moments when I come to realise how good it is to live in Hong Kong. And once your find these trivial matters not annoying anymore, congratulations, you have become a local!

Long for a Working Holiday in Germany?

Please visit: http://whs.esdlife.com/eng/ger_main.asp

uk
Popular articles about...
ask the way life after working holiday let go of your ego trivial annoyances bad roomies                     
Priscilla Ng
Fung Garcia

A post-80s Chinese language teacher who failed his A-Level English, went working holiday to Germany before his turned 30 –worked little, holiday a lot. Speaking poor English and zero German, he managed to survive and visited 29 countries in Europe. Lazily updating his travel blog 'Garcia in Germany'.
Facebook
Blog

細眉細眼的麻煩

話哂都住喺第二個國家,德國的日常生活文化總會跟香港有點不同,一些細眉細眼的麻煩事,不至於令你抓狂,但絕對令你的工作假期感到非常不爽。

除非你扮鄭伊健,否則一個男人一年最少都要剪返3/5/7次頭髮。一早已聽聞西方人不懂剪東方髮質,但都估不到堂堂國際大都會柏林的年輕人理髮師,一個唔該,「咔」一聲就平剪了我pat蔭!還加句「oh very nice~」小弟的髮型從未有一刻和薯仔如此接近,直情以為去了傳說中的理髮店「彌敦道9號」!仲夠膽收我30€咁貴!其他亞洲朋友在德國剪髮,除非自己剪,否則都是鎩羽而歸。以為橫死掂死,慳錢搵最平既土耳其理髮店?但剪完會真係想死架。貴的,剪不好 ; 平的,更恐怖! 在這以「實際為上」的德國社會要剪髮,除非找到日本人開的髮型屋,否則都是自求多福‧‧‧‧‧‧

臨離開前才找到的日本人髮型屋@柏林‧Hufelandstrasse臨離開前才找到的日本人髮型屋@柏林‧Hufelandstrasse

中國人點都要有米落肚,但邊有電飯煲呀?唔係個個都有用明火煲飯唔燶既技術。咁點?超市有一種方便米,包裝有細孔,成包放入滾水烚15分鐘食得。無錯,係烚,所以成碗飯都係水滴滴,而且又粉又無咬口,只可以用來止一止思鄉病,是飯桶一族的悲劇。

滾水撈飯滾水撈飯

星期日絕對係香港打工仔shopping既良機!在德國,算罷啦,死城一樣呀,因為法例規定公司及零售店舖星期日開門要付extra tax—所以一到星期日就什麼也做不到,最慘係超市都唔開呀!如果星期六唔記得買定聽日餸,就乖乖地奉獻銀兩出街食啦。如果熟路的話,或者會有一兩間超市或士多營業,但都係會好貴‧‧‧‧‧‧

柏林少數星期日仍營業的超市@Zoologischer Garten,當我們得知此事時,感覺十足哥倫布發現新大陸,又似茫茫大海中找到枯木!柏林少數星期日仍營業的超市@Zoologischer Garten,當我們得知此事時,感覺十足哥倫布發現新大陸,又似茫茫大海中找到枯木!

其實仲有好多麻煩瑣事,如網上預約只有德文、tap water水積太多要成日抹、難搵新鮮魚食、無通宵車、不能周街截的士等等等等。不是在抱怨,只是異地生活習慣的不同,遇上此等事時多少會想一下「香港真係好呀~」,但當你開始覺得everything no problem時,恭喜你,你已經係德國人了~

看完後,好想立即去德國工作假期?

詳情參閱:http://whs.esdlife.com/chi/ger_main.asp

德國
人氣文章關於...
秘境之行始於問 工作假期後的Working Day 人離鄉賤 細眉細眼的麻煩 同住難                     
Priscilla Ng
瘋人鋒語 - 30前80後的德國工作假期
鋒Garcia

高考英文Fail的80後中文教師,30歲限期前獨自跑到德國工作假期。 少少working,多多holiday,德文不懂,英文不行,僥倖一年後仍然生存。其間遊遍歐洲29國家共過百城市,記錄於網誌《瘋人鋒語 - 30前80後的德國工作假期》,仍懶惰地持續更新中。
Facebook 粉絲專頁
博客