Japanese kitchen in a foreign eye

Men's World

Japanese kitchen is called "i-ta-ma-e", it has traditionally been a place for men. Working in a real kitchen is so much different from cooking at home. For my first job in Japan, I chose to work in a traditional Japanese kitchen in Hakone since I wanted to learn Japanese cooking. I remember how the guys were all shocked when I entered the kitchen, they were so curious about this foreign female staff! They didn’t even have a female size uniform so I had to wear a male one before having my tailor-made uniform.

The Chef gave me a professional kitchen knife. It is said that in their culture, they only reward their favourite apprentice with this knife.

Call me a man!

My Japanese was not fluent at that time, you can imagine how the names of kitchen tools and ingredients were killing me! Every time I came across a new vocabulary, I had to jot notes immediately and revise for many times. It was a painful learning process indeed. On physical level, the team was kind to me so I never had to handle heavy or hot stuff. But there were times when the kitchen was extremely busy, I couldn't stand sitting there and not helping, so I just made myself a man and helped in all sort of things, hot stuff, freezing stuff or heavy stuff. I also wanted to show everyone that a foreign lady can do what they do!

After breakfast time, the staff would prepare lunch for the whole team; we sat together and ate lunch like a family.

A kitchen is a family

I had a fun time working in the kitchen and the stories were all unforgettable. There was a trainee working closely with me, sometimes we made troubles like spilling something, or ruining a beautiful dish. We would help each other to cover before being discovered by the seniors! The team treated me like a family member, when they cooked something nice, they would prepared an extra portion for me, better than what a customer would get! You couldn't believe how much weight I gained in Hakone! At first I had totally no idea with all their “men's talks”, but few months later my Japanese was improved and I was able to join their conversations and laughed with them.

My last day of work. Thanks to their patience, now I can cook myself nice meals every day.

My last meal in the kitchen. The chef was so kind to make my favourite dish "tempura-soba noodle"!

How time flies! On the day I left the kitchen, I cried all the way from Hakone to Yokohama and it was a 1.5 hour ride… Passengers around me must have wondered: what happened to this girl?

Popular articles about...
television industry Okinawa crush never know broken Japanese Japanese kitchen moving is nice                     
Emily Ha

Graduated from the City University of Hong Kong, Emily's curiosity for overseas lives rooted from her experience of being an exchange student in San Jose State University in America. She joined the television industry after graduation and went to working holiday in Japan in 2014; currently stationing in Tokyo, she got an offer from a Japanese TV program production company, with chances to travel around Asia for overseas TV program shooting.
Blog

在日本廚房打工

男人的世界

日本的廚房稱為「板前」,傳統以來都是男人工作的地方。廚房的工作需要處理大量食材及菜式,跟平日在家簡單的「煮飯仔」完全是兩回事。因為想學煮日本料理,第一份工作我選擇了到箱根一家傳統日式廚房當學徒。記得第一天走進廚房,廚房裡的男生們都呆了似的看著我,大家對這位外國女員工感到非常好奇,他們更沒一套女裝的制服提供給我,要去立即訂造,剛開始工作的首星期,我都是穿衣不稱身的男裝制服上班的。

主廚送了一把廚房用的專業刀子給我,聽說在日本文化中,只有受主廚器重的徒弟才可獲此厚禮。

把自己當成男生

那時的日語並不算流利,加上有很多廚具和食材的日文名稱我都不認識,只要遇到不懂的日文詞語,便會馬上記下來並重覆溫習,每天的學習過程都是很痛苦的。至於在體力方面,大家對我都很仁慈,不需我處理太重或太熱的東西,但後來眼見團隊們各人都忙不過來,我也把自己當成男生了,冷凍的、滾燙的、超重的全都去幫忙,要證明給大家看外國人、女人也可以幹一樣的工作!

上午忙完早餐時段,廚師都會為團隊炮製美味午餐,然後大家像家人般坐在廚房一起開飯。

另一個家

在廚房工作的半年,實在發生太多趣事,至今我仍無法忘記。記得我跟另一位學徒常會打翻東西,或把料理弄得不夠漂亮,大家都會互相幫忙,趕在前輩發現之前一起「收拾殘局」!廚房的男人們對我都像家人般,有什麼好吃的都會給我弄一份,比客人的待遇更好,我人生最「發福」的時期大概就在箱根吧!而我由最初不太聽懂他們的「男人笑話」,到後來甚至可加入無聊的對話,跟大家打成一片。

最後一天上班在廚房跟團隊合照,多得他們的悉心教導,現在的我要自己煮三餐也不成問題!

在廚房的最後一次午餐,廚師更窩心的做了我最愛吃的菜式 — 天婦羅蕎麦麺

半年很快就過去了,離開箱根時,我坐在電車上由箱根湯本站一直哭到橫浜站,全程一個半小時,把旁邊的乘客嚇壞了。

人氣文章關於...
日本電視界 沖繩看海 想去就去 日語不夠好 在廚房打工 搬家很美好                     
可以慢的話 不會快
Emily Ha

香港城市大學畢業生,曾到美國聖荷西國立大學當交換生,自此對海外生活產生濃厚興趣;畢業後投身電視業,2014年2月上旬出發到日本展開工作假期,現獲一家日本電視節目製作公司長期聘用,主要在東京生活,也會走訪亞洲各地協助日本攝製隊的外景拍攝。
博客