My Okinawa Crush

A Random Decision

Instead of having a detailed plan for my working holiday, I told myself, "Enjoy and explore to the fullest, let things happen!" One day in Hakone, when I was having lunch with a colleague, she seemed to be very shocked by how slow I ate, "Are you really from Hong Kong? The pace of Hong Kong people is very fast, isn't it?" Well yes, I'm genuinely "made in Hong Kong", but an error version probably…… Then I asked which place looked like my 'home'. "Okinawa!" , she said. Her answer did inspire me. I started searching information about Okinawa and I really wanted to know how much I look like an Okinawan.

Okinawa

From the hill to the sea, from grassland to sandy beach, from smoky hotspring to chilled seawater, I officially moved from the east to the south of Japan! Having polished my cooking skills and basic Japanese in the kitchen, next step I wanted to improve my language by being a restaurant waitress. The blue ocean and water sports in Okinawa immediately got my heart, and the people in Okinawa were much more approachable than those in Kanto area, their lives were slow, and I could totally see why people thought I belonged there.

This Moon Beach was just 5-min walk from my home, best place to spend my leisure time.

Working in Okinawa

I got an offer to be a waitress in a western restaurant inside a resort. Since this job required lots of interaction with guests, I had to work on my formal Japanese, which is so different from conversational Japanese. In the beginning, I couldn't follow what people talked in the staff interphone, and even got blamed by my senior for being unresponsive. It was indeed so hard listening to the earphone while serving guests at the same time. But I did not want to make 'being a foreigner' an excuse for not doing something, to boost my Japanese listening skills, I spent a lot of time watching local television programmes as well as news reports, and revised Japanese when I had days-off. One month later, I found myself being able to reply to those instructions on interphone. And I could even get some of their jokes.

Enjoying this beautiful sea view at my work place.

Not too early to get retired

Compared with the job in Hakone, this job was so free and I was allowed to pick my day-off. So I could travel around Okinawa as much as I want.

(Left) The place I stayed is called "Onna-son" which was famous for diving. (Right) Local people called Miyako-jima the most amazing outlying island of Okinawa. This is the best sea view I've ever seen.

You can find similar beaches in SE Asia, but not as well-preserved.

Glass making is famous in Okinawa, so I joined a workshop. My teacher said I was talented as a beginner!

I stayed in Okinawa for 3 months and joined the New Year celebration, then it was time to move on to a new stage. How can I not miss the beautiful sea and nice people in Okinawa!

Like Chinese, Japanese people visit their families and friends on January-1st ,the New Year Day, I too went celebration at one of my friend's home.

Popular articles about...
television industry Okinawa crush never know broken Japanese Japanese kitchen moving is nice                     
Emily Ha

Graduated from the City University of Hong Kong, Emily's curiosity for overseas lives rooted from her experience of being an exchange student in San Jose State University in America. She joined the television industry after graduation and went to working holiday in Japan in 2014; currently stationing in Tokyo, she got an offer from a Japanese TV program production company, with chances to travel around Asia for overseas TV program shooting.
Blog

在沖繩看海的日子?

隨意的決定

我並沒給自己的工作假期定下太多的計劃,只堅持一個宗旨:盡情體驗,什麼事都可以發生!在箱根工作時,有一天跟一位同事外出吃飯,她似乎被我的緩慢進食速度嚇倒了,席間忍不住問我:「你真的是香港人嗎?香港人不是什麼都快的嗎?」嗯,我的確是香港人,只不過是「錯版」的...... 然後我反問她:「那麼我像來自哪裡呢?」她說:「沖繩!」

她的答案成了我下一步的明燈,我開始留意沖縄這個地方,想知道我到底有多像沖縄人嗎?

沖繩

由家住半山變了沿海居民,從綠草如茵到陽光海灘,閒時去泡溫泉變成到沙灘暢泳,我正式從日本的東部搬去南部!在廚房訓練了廚藝及基本的日文對話,下一站我想在餐廳當服務生,進一步訓練日文。喜歡海洋及水上活動的我被沖繩吸引住了,而且沖繩人相對關東人熱情,人與人之間沒那麼強烈的距離感,生活節奏緩慢,我終於明白為何人家說我是來自沖縄了。

從我的家到這個沙灘「Moon Beach」,只需步行5分,是我下班或假日的好去處。

沖繩的工作

找到了一份在渡假酒店西餐廳當服務生的工作,由於是前線服務員,經常要跟客人交流,所以要背誦很多「尊敬語」,這是從日常會話的層次更上一層樓了。記得起初我並沒能力理解用作同事間溝通那部「日文版」對講機的內容,更被前輩罵為何沒在對講機中答話,但其實正在接待客人的我,根本就無法追上大家在耳機的對話,不過這絕不可成為我的藉口,因為每位員工也應該有同樣能力,於是我不斷看日本的電視節目和新聞來訓練日文聽力,假日也會到咖啡廳溫習日文。工作了一個月後,我發覺自己能用日文在對講機溝通了,還聽懂大家在說工作以外的笑話呢。

我就是看著這片美景上班的。

提前過退休生活

跟在箱根的工作相比,這份工作悠閒得多,每月的休假日子可自訂,我可盡情遊覽沖繩。

(左)我工作和居住的地方叫恩納村,是著名的潛水勝地。 (右)到了被沖繩人譽為最漂亮的離島—宮古島,是我人生看過最美麗的海洋。

其實東南亞也有很多漂亮的沙灘,但當地人的保育意識未必及得上日本人,沙灘上完全看不見垃圾。

我還去學習製作沖繩名物—琉球玻璃杯,老師說我算是有天份的初學者!

在沖繩只生活了3個月,也在沖繩度過了日本的新年,然後帶著萬般不捨離開大海跟友善的沖繩人,迎接下一段新生活。

中國人的農曆新年一樣,日本人也會在新年1月1日拜訪親友,而我就到了沖繩朋友的家「拜年」。

人氣文章關於...
日本電視界 沖繩看海 想去就去 日語不夠好 在廚房打工 搬家很美好                     
可以慢的話 不會快
Emily Ha

香港城市大學畢業生,曾到美國聖荷西國立大學當交換生,自此對海外生活產生濃厚興趣;畢業後投身電視業,2014年2月上旬出發到日本展開工作假期,現獲一家日本電視節目製作公司長期聘用,主要在東京生活,也會走訪亞洲各地協助日本攝製隊的外景拍攝。
博客