Language School is like a microcosm of the whole world

In addition to the language enhancement, making new foreign friends was another precious experience during my study in the language school in Korea.

Some people may think that taking courses in language school is only limited to European, American, Japanese and Taiwanese. This is not true. People from other countries, such as Brazil, Mexico, Nepal, Uzbekistan, they learnt Korean for different reasons as well. Some regard it as a root-seeking tour and some want to learn the most sizzling k-pop trend. Despite of the reasons, we met gather here from all corners of the world.

Apart from foreigners, I also met a number of Korean university students, the experience of culture shock was very interesting

This is a Mexican friend I knew from a language class, and we love to find the local food together

After talking to my classmates, I learnt that there was a number of Uzbeks escaped from the chaos in their country and resettled in Korea, and hence there are quite a number of mix of Uzbeks and Koreans. I also learnt that it takes 20+ hours from Brazil to Korea for flight, and they love the meats most. I also got a chance to have a barbeque with Mexicans in a Seoul's barbeque site, making the Mexican style tacos… At first, we all spoke different languages, but after learning the Korean in the language school, we could communicate with each other well in Korean. It was like opening a door to different cultures, and enriched the whole learning experience to me.

People always say, "Learning is more than scoring", and there are indeed many more valuable things to obtain than the certificates. You find yours yet?

Popular articles about...
handicraft markets travel writer etiquette place to live language school                     
Cyrus Chan

Cyrus loves traveling, making friends, chatting, handicrafts, drawing, writing, arts, daydreaming and wandering in cafés. She backpacked alone to Turkey, Germany and Eastern Europe, spent 1.5 years in Australia for working holiday, and another year studying in Korea. Cyrus wrote a few travel books on Turkey, Seoul and Hong Kong.
Facebook fanpage
Blog

語言學校,就是世界的縮影

韓國學韓文,最大的收獲除了是韓語大有進步外,就是在語學堂裡跟不同國家的人相處的經歷了。

以為學韓文的人只限於歐美日港台嗎?其實還有一些沒想過會遇到的國籍,例如巴西、墨西哥、尼泊爾、烏茲別克人,他們都因為尋根或韓流的原因,來到各大學附設的語學堂學習韓語,然後,生活在地球相反面的我們,相遇了。

除了外國人,在大學的「語言交換課」也認識了不少韓國大學生,當中的文化衝擊亦非常有趣。

在語學堂認識的墨西哥朋友,閒時最愛一起去訪尋美食

然後我知道,原來烏茲別克有很多當年逃難的韓國人定居在那裡,所以那邊有不少韓國餐廳和混血兒;從巴西到韓國要搭上20多個小時的飛機,他們最喜歡吃肉;也有機會跟墨西哥人在首爾的燒烤場,炮製最地道的墨西哥式烤肉tacos-大家本說著不同的母語而互不了解,卻因為大家學到的共同語言而能夠暢所欲言,感覺就像打開了一度門;也因為這樣,韓文變成了認識彼此文化的橋樑,同時也豐富了整個學習的過程。

老土也要說一句,有時求學真的不是求分數,有太多比分數學歷證書更有價值的東西了,而你,又能夠把它們找出來嗎?

人氣文章關於...
手作市集 旅遊書 禮儀 尋找學校住宿 語言學校                     
除了旅行、還是旅行
Cyrus Chan

喜歡旅行、鑽巷子、交朋友、說話、手作、繪畫、文字、藝術、發夢、呆坐咖啡店。習慣一個人的背包旅行,一個人獨遊土耳其、一個月漫遊德國東歐、一年半澳洲工作假期、一年韓國遊學。亦曾經去過台灣打工換宿、遊歷緬甸西藏日本,和數不清的東南亞之旅,用旅行豐富平板人生。曾出版旅遊書《土耳其的惡魔之眼》、《首爾私房輕旅行》、《香港有意思小旅行》等等。
Facebook 粉絲專頁
博客