Babysitting for 1 month

During my "Room & Board" experience in southern England, I was responsible for cleaning the house of my boss, and sometimes I had to take up the role of babysitter and look after his kids. It was indeed my first time being a care-taker, or housewife!

There were 3 rooms in the 3-storey house, the girl room was like a fairyland, with all the dolls, toys, and princess costumes, exactly the kind of room that every little girl dreams of! The boy's room was also specially designed to fit the little boy’s needs. Since the house owner was very busy with his hostel business, the responsibility of taking care of both kids fell upon his wife, who was a part-time teacher as well. My daily tasks included household cleaning, laundry and taking care of their dog.

The princess room of her daughterThe princess room of her daughter

I worked there for one month. It wasn't harsh, but sometimes I did feel tired, especially when I saw the house got messy again after I tided, it seemed never-ending. However, compared to my boss' wife, it was nothing actually. I could see how difficult it was for a mom to take balance between family and work, Though I stayed there for only a short time, I could see how lucky and happy their childrenwere. No forced tutorial class, the kids could move around the house freely; if they fell, they cried a bit and got up again. Although their parents were busy, they insisted taking them to school everyday, making sure they spend some time together. They also gave them a lot of freedom. This may not work for all families in the world, but I believe that children should have the right to choose their own future, and only through experience people grow.

The happy familyThe happy family

Popular articles about...
babysitting couchsurfing 2 months in $6,000                     
Priscilla Ng
Priscilla Ng

A post-80s Hong Kong girl, in the past 4 years, she went working holiday in Australia, 'Room & Board' in England, experienced coach-surfing and WWOOF, and travelled to more than 20 countries across Asia, Australia, Europe and Americas.

做一個月清潔保姆

英國南部一家旅舍打工換宿的一個月裡,我負責清潔老闆的房子,有時還會擔當起保姆一職。對我而言,清潔只屬簡單工夫,做保姆還是第一次,可讓我有機會扮演一下家庭主婦。

老闆的房子樓高3層,有3個房間,女兒房以童話世界做主題,裡面有洋娃娃、玩具、公主裝等,是每個女生都夢寐以求的房間。而兒子房也經過特別設計,照顧到幾歲大兒子的起居習慣。老闆長期忙於旅舍業務,家中小孩都是由任兼職教師的妻子負責,我則協助每天3小時房子打掃。日常清潔以外,我要同時兼顧洗衣及照料小狗。

老闆女兒的公主房老闆女兒的公主房

做了一個月清潔保姆,說辛苦又不算,只是偶爾感到累,尤其是每天辛苦打掃房子,隔天回來又見到房子打回原形的亂況。不過相比老闆娘,少少累又算什麼。一個母親要同時兼顧事業和家庭的確不容易。

與老闆一家相處時間雖短,但大概也能想像,他的子女該很幸福。在這裡,他們沒有被強迫上補習班,小孩在家中可自由地走上走下,跌倒了哭兩聲就自己爬起來。老闆夫婦工作雖忙,仍親自接送返放學,努力爭取一家人相處的時間,亦給予兒女自由發揮的空間。我明白「家家有本難唸的經」,只不過孩子也應有權利去選擇自己的將來,有經歷才有成長。

老闆與他的兒子老闆與他的兒子

英國
人氣文章關於...
清潔保姆 沙發衝浪 窮遊英國64天                     
Priscilla Ng
我是旅皇
Priscilla Ng

80後香港女生,過去4年曾參加澳洲打工度假、英國打工換宿、沙發衝浪及 WWOOF,先後走遍了亞洲、大洋洲、歐洲和美洲超過20個國家......
Facebook 粉絲專頁
博客