2 months in the UK for just $6,000

While many people think that it is very expensive to travel in Europe, I spent only HK$6,000 during my two month stay in the U.K. Many friends of mine were very curious how I did that, actually you can totally decide how much you are going to spend when you travel! It is not that difficult.

My routeMy route

What I wore

It was winter in the U.K. when I visited, the good thing about it was, warmth came first, no one cared how you look. All the way I wore on me the same thick jacket, I didn't do washing often as I hardly sweat, so laundry cost was also saved.

What I ate

Eating out in the U.K. is generally expensive, so most of the time I cooked at home. I liked shopping in supermarkets, especially after sunset when I could buy things at discounted price. I also loved supermarkets' home brands, as they were much cheaper than normal brands.

I made this pizza in hostelI made this pizza in hostel

What I usually had for lunch and supperWhat I usually had for lunch and supper

What I lived

Accommodation costs could be big, I did couchsurfing a lot so a large part of money was saved. Sometimes I went to backpacker hostels, which usually costs around $100 to get a bed in mixed dorm, much more economical than staying in hotels.

A caravan I stayedA caravan I stayed

A typical couch when I had couchsurfingA typical couch when I had couchsurfing

How I moved around

While there are budget airlines, there are also budget buses. I always checked for bus discounts, sometimes I could get really great deals like 1 GDP ticket, which meant a few hours bus ride costs me only HK$36. For shorter distances, I prefer walking. Walking saves money and allow you to see more.

The ferry between Torquay and Brixham in Southwesten BritainThe ferry between Torquay and Brixham in Southwesten Britain

There is always a cheaper way to travel, like for my case, I went to more than 20 cities spending only HK$6,000 , and gained lots of experience.

Lake district in the U.K.Lake district in the U.K.

uk
Popular articles about...
babysitting couchsurfing 2 months in $6,000                     
Priscilla Ng
Priscilla Ng

A post-80s Hong Kong girl, in the past 4 years, she went working holiday in Australia, 'Room & Board' in England, experienced coach-surfing and WWOOF, and travelled to more than 20 countries across Asia, Australia, Europe and Americas.
Facebook
Blog

窮遊英國$6,000玩盡英國64天

很多人覺得去歐洲旅行要很貴,但我之前兩個月的英國旅程只用了$6,000港元,不少朋友好奇問我如何做到,但我想說的是旅行花費其實豐儉由人,平玩英國不是想像中困難。

旅程移動路線旅程移動路線

在英國時正值冬季,冬天的好處是保暖大過天,衣服配搭變得其次,兩個月裡我保持自制沒亂買衣服,大部分時間都是穿同一件厚褸走天涯。加上天冷出汗少,衣服不用天天洗,洗衣費也節省不少。

英國的餐廳普遍都貴,所以我盡量都不出外吃飯。我喜歡逛超市,尤其愛在黃昏後的特價時段去,很多時會遇上食物清貨特價。另外我亦愛選用超市的自家品牌食品,售價會較平常的食物牌子低。

在換宿旅館做薄餅在換宿旅館做薄餅

日常煮的簡單午晚餐日常煮的簡單午晚餐

住宿方面,我在英國大部分都是以沙發衝浪方式找到免費住宿,節省了旅行中最主要的開支。此外,背包旅舍亦是我的選擇,混宿床位每晚大約只需 $100港元,僅是普通酒店房價的一、兩成。

打工換宿時睡過的露營車屋打工換宿時睡過的露營車屋

其中一個沙發衝浪睡過的沙發其中一個沙發衝浪睡過的沙發

飛機有廉航,巴士也有廉價巴士。我在當地不時留意廉價巴士公司的車票優惠,例如我之前買到1英鎊車票,遊走3個城市。至於短程走得到的地方,我大都會走路前往,不用花錢坐車又可沿途看風景,一舉兩得。

英國西南部來往Torquay及Brixham的渡輪英國西南部來往TorquayBrixham的渡輪

平有平玩,兩個月只花 $6000的英國行,我總共遊走二十多個大城小鎮,途中遇到的人和事更是精彩無價。

英國湖區的景致英國湖區的景致

英國
人氣文章關於...
清潔保姆 沙發衝浪 窮遊英國64天                     
Priscilla Ng
我是旅皇
Priscilla Ng

80後香港女生,過去4年曾參加澳洲打工度假、英國打工換宿、沙發衝浪及 WWOOF,先後走遍了亞洲、大洋洲、歐洲和美洲超過20個國家......
Facebook 粉絲專頁
博客